View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: horsepower for hulu
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:17 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
Is choppy playback the nature of the hulu beast? Does anyone have enough cpu horsepower for smooth fluid playback? If so, what are you using?

I have:
3.2 Ghz P4
AGP FX5200 playing 1080p without xvmc
and it plays hulu choppy with Low or High quality settings. But over the air HD is just fine.

More data points welcome. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
Playback is smooth for me with only the very occasional hicup. hardware is in my sig. Net connection is a 20/5 FIOS line :D

Flash on Linux takes some pretty substantial hardware for smooth playback.

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 2:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 10:57 am
Posts: 106
Yeah flash video is the culprit. Adobe is said to be releasing a "hardware accelerated flash" even for Linux in the next few months. People assume it will support VDPAU but personally I'll believe when I see it.

I can play hulu flash pretty well on my machines. AMD 2.8 dual core. I find I have to make sure the buffer is full to get nice smooth playback.

The HuluDesktop is kind of clunky to work with in my humble opinion. So it's not something we run hardly ever. Perhaps when things go into reruns something on hulu will be worthwhile to watch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 11:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Beta for Flash 10.1 is out with hardware accelerated playback. Plays much better on my system with it's tiny Atom cpu, but that was only watching a few minutes of video. I'll need to spend some time watching some longer video to know for sure.

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 6:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
uteck wrote:
Beta for Flash 10.1 is out
How did you install it?
Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 10:17 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Download from;
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

Backup old plugin;
mv /usr/lib/mozillia/plugins/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozillia/plugins/libflashplayer.so.BAK

Then untar the file and copy the plugin;
tar xzvf flashplayer10_1_p1_linux_111709.tar.gz
cp install_flash_player_10_linux/libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozillia/plugins/

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 11:15 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:27 am
Posts: 75
Location: Raleigh, NC
I thought I read, and the release notes seem to confirm the hardware acceleration is only in the windows version of the beta:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/releasenotes.pdf


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 8:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:42 pm
Posts: 410
Location: middleton wi usa atsc
craigtv wrote:
I thought I read, and the release notes seem to confirm the hardware acceleration is only in the windows version of the beta:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/releasenotes.pdf
That's how I read it too, but I wanted to give it a try. After following uteck's directions, when I start hulu, it just kicks right back out to the menu system. I don't think my video card is supported. nvidia FX5200.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Even if it is not offloading it to the video card, the playback is still smoother. Hulu at full screen was very choppy, but still watchable with 10.0 and 10.1 is much smoother.

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 1:25 pm
Posts: 8
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Weird. For me Hulu crashes instantly using the new Flash. Reverting back and it runs (or rather stutters) normally.

_________________
KnoppMyth R6.03 | AMD Athlon64 X2 2.0GHz | 2048 MB RAM | MSI nVidia 6200 TC | Hauppauge WinTV PVR-350 | HDHomeRun | HDA = 40 GB PATA | HDB = Lite-On DVD +/-RW/DL | HDC = 500GB SATA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 12:04 pm
Posts: 905
Location: LA, CA
str003 wrote:
Weird. For me Hulu crashes instantly using the new Flash. Reverting back and it runs (or rather stutters) normally.


+1

Any fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 9:20 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Beta 2 is out. Still no accelerated playback for Linux yet until there is a standard API to use.
I am posting from work, so I have not tried it yet on my frontend.

##Edit##
Just watched Full Metal Alchemist with 10.1 beta2 and the playback was worse. The show flickered during movement, but ironically commercials played much smoother. I switched back to 10.1 beta1 and started to watch it again just to verify, and beta1 is much smoother then 2, except for the commercials.

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 10:25 am
Posts: 109
Location: Elgin, Illinois
Beta3 is out and much better then 2 was. Playback is acceptable and consistent during the video and commercials, and the remote seems to respond a bit better now, but that might just be subjective on my part.

_________________
The Atomic Ant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 6:27 pm
Posts: 7
Location: Tucson, AZ
I have a menu item I added to the main myth menu that lowers my resolution from 1080p to 720p (and back again.) The lower resolution helps.

My script:
Code:
cp -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.720p /etc/X11/xorg.conf
pkill mythfrontend
sleep 1
pkill X


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2010 12:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 2:07 am
Posts: 1530
Location: California
The consistent message I am seeing is that Flash will not support hardware acceleration under Linux. Some other notes:

1. FX5200 is not one of the hardware acceleration platforms supported, even under windows. The minimum is either an 8000 or 9000 series Nvidia card -- would need to double check the release notes. ION is supported.

2. I get reasonable playback using a single core Atom, ION LE, windows XP with beta 3. There is still some tearing.

3. I am guessing that the "atom ant" works because it is the dual core Atom, but can't be certain.

_________________
Marc

The views expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect the views of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu