View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Memory Leak ?
PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
The back end was down on one of my older (K-M 5.5) mythboxes, which scarfs down large numbers of SD programs from the satellite box. Usually it runs long periods with no attention at all. A re-boot fixed it.

Dmesg said:
Quote:
Normal free:31980kB min:2788kB low:3484kB high:4180kB lots:5576kB active:6048kB inactive:414916kB present:503428kB pages_scanned:0 all_unreclaimable? no
lowmem_reserve[]: 0 0 0 0
DMA: 60*4kB 2*8kB 1*16kB 1*32kB 1*64kB 1*128kB 1*256kB 1*512kB 1*1024kB 0*2048kB 0*4096kB = 2288kB
Normal: 6193*4kB 597*8kB 20*16kB 4*32kB 1*64kB 1*128kB 1*256kB 1*512kB 1*1024kB 0*2048kB 0*4096kB = 31980kB
Swap cache: add 496576, delete 496576, find 126476/150041, race 171+4
Free swap = 32kB
Total swap = 514072kB
Free swap: 32kB
130944 pages of RAM
0 pages of HIGHMEM
2961 reserved pages
6678 pages shared
7 pages swap cached
0 pages dirty
0 pages writeback
84 pages mapped
6787 pages slab
563 pages pagetables
Out of memory: kill process 31577 (mythbackend) score 121030 or a child
Killed process 31577 (mythbackend)



For educational purposes, is this out of memory due to a 'memory leak' ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R5.5 memory leak
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Yes. R5.5 suffers from a memory leak. I either reboot or use the "pkill xinit" command about every 2 weeks.

If you look with the "top" command, you can watch xorg take more and more memory every few days.

Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 5:36 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Well this one sits and runs pretty much like the sunrise, so I was surprised when it happened the first time.

Probably a monthly re-boot will banish the possibility of it recurring and losing some of the wife's soaps...... :lol:
and diminishing my WAF ..... :D

I don't have a reboot schedule for any of the others...
They could go 6 months before anything comes up causes a reboot...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: a RRD graph
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Heres a look at the memory usage RRD graph of my R5.5 box over the last few weeks. The sharp falls in mem usage is where I rebooted or used the "pkill xinit" command. I usually don't like to see the memory usage get above 50%.

Image

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:49 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Wow! ... That's a pretty good documenting of the phenomena... My hat's off to ya !! .....

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: its RRD
PostPosted: Sat Dec 25, 2010 8:51 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
snaproll wrote:
Wow! ... That's a pretty good documenting of the phenomena... My hat's off to ya !! .....

:D
I can't really take credit for the nice graph. It's all built-into R5.5. You access RRD graphs via Mythweb. If you log into your R5.5 KM box via mythweb (type the IP address of your KM box in a web browser...192.168.1.10:portnumber), the first screen you see says KNOPPMYTH at the top with a picture of Tux holding a remote control. If you scroll down the screen, you'll see a heading called RRD. Click there and look through all the graphs of system resources. It's pretty handy sometimes.
Eric

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 7:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
I ran a bunch of RRD graphs when they first became available.
They showed boring normal operation....

So I eventually turned them off to save processor cycles...
I hadn't even considered that turning them on for this machine might draw the instructive graph you posted ! ... :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: the last year
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 11:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 8:26 pm
Posts: 804
Location: Minneapolis, MN
You can see memory usage got a pretty big at the start of August 2010. We went on vacation and I didn't reboot before we left.

Image

Image

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5, Asus A8N-VM CSM (nvidia 6150 onboard video), AMD Athlon 64 dual-core 4200+, two 1GB sticks DDR 400, HD-3000 HDTV card, PVR-150 card, Iguanaworks RS-232 IR receiver/transmitter, Pioneer DVR-110 DVD burner


Last edited by neutron68 on Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 12:19 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
The swap graph is the one I watch, when that starts to climb it's time to reboot or at least restart the X server and apps. When this thread reminded me to check it yesterday it was up to 40%, which means that I'm still seeing a leak of some kind under R6.03.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 4:16 pm
Posts: 499
Location: Ft. Worth TX
Looks like the RRD graphs are highly educational about long term trends running KM and LH.

I wouldn't have noticed with 6, cuz it goes so long something else comes up that gets it rebooted, well before running into the message I kicked this off with .....


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu