View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 5:44 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
You need the config file for the dct, you put it in /etc/irblaster

Name it irblasterd.conf

the dct2500 one I use is this



#
#
#
# brand: Motorola
# model no. of remote control: DCT2000
# devices being controlled by this remote:
#

begin remote
name DCT2000
bits 16
flags SPACE_ENC|CONST_LENGTH
eps 30
aeps 100

header 9036 4424
one 556 2185
zero 556 4424
ptrail 556
gap 100025
toggle_bit 0


begin codes
HELP 0x000000000000B3F2
POWER 0x000000000000AFF9
MUTE 0x0000000000000FF7
PAGE+ 0x000000000000A3F3
PAGE- 0x00000000000023FB
LOCK 0x00000000000097F6
EXIT 0x000000000000B7F4
OK 0x00000000000077F8
VOL+ 0x0000000000004FF3
VOL- 0x0000000000008FFB
LAST 0x00000000000037FC
FAV 0x00000000000057FA
CH+ 0x0000000000002FF5
CH- 0x000000000000CFFD
A 0x00000000000017FE
B 0x0000000000001BF1
C 0x000000000000EBF9
1 0x0000000000007FF0
2 0x000000000000BFF8
3 0x0000000000003FF4
4 0x000000000000DFFC
5 0x0000000000005FF2
6 0x0000000000009FFA
7 0x0000000000001FF6
8 0x000000000000EFFE
9 0x0000000000006FF1
0 0x000000000000FFFF
BYPASS 0x000000000000D7F2
MUSIC 0x000000000000F7F0
STOP 0x00000000000063FD
PAUSE 0x00000000000007FF
PLAY 0x000000000000E3F5
REW 0x00000000000087F7
REC 0x00000000000073FC
FFWD 0x00000000000047FB
end codes

end remote

You also need a channel change script.

mine is in /etc/irblaster

and is named channel_change.sh

Like this

#!/bin/bash

echo "changing to $1"

REMOTE_NAME=DCT2000
# $(grep ^[[:space:]]*name[[:space:]] /etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf | awk '{ print $2 }')

for digit in $(echo $1 | sed -e 's/./& /g'); do
sleep 0.2
/usr/bin/irsend --device=/dev/irblasterd SEND_ONCE $REMOTE_NAME $digit
sleep 0.5
done
/usr/bin/irsend --device=/dev/irblasterd SEND_ONCE $REMOTE_NAME OK
sleep 0.2


Mine is slightly modified to send an OK at the end so I don't have to count on auto tune.

You then need to go into the setup and on that tuner card put the path to the channel change script.

Give that a try

Craig


[/code]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 7:55 pm
Posts: 11
I'm going to start a new thead Craig so we can keep this one on topic. Here's the first post.

Gave it a try and it failed to change the channels... I just reloaded a new install and I'm going to try the usual method from: http://losdos.dyndns.org:8080/public/my ... _LIRC.html

I would really to contribute to an "out of the box" solution for the next release. If there is anything I can help to contribute, please let me know.

Craig, could you please document the steps you took from a fresh install in order to setup the IR Blaster with your DCT?

Here are the steps as I understand them from fresh install to a fully functional IR Blaster.

1) Create your DCT config file (irblasterd.conf) in /etc/irblaster

2) Create your channel changing script (change_channel.sh) also in /etc/irblaster and make the file executeable

3) Reboot the PC

4) MythTV Live should now change your channels

Four easy steps to success and far as I know it...

Assumptions I have made are that during the install, you would of selected YES to the IR Blaster questions and set it up on the correct COM Port. Also that your are using the serial IR Blaster and not the USB IR Blaster.

Let's see if we can hammer out a how to for all of us Rogers/Shaw/Cogeco Myth users. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:09 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Okay I believe the problem is in R5B7

do you have 2 tuner cards?

What may be happening is that irblaster is loading before lirc this needs to be changed see some of the previous posts. I will look up the specifics later and post them

Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 10:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2005 1:43 pm
Posts: 388
Location: Nanaimo BC
Try this from previous post to see if that is your issue.

Are you sure you have the correct com port?


Code:
root@mythtv:~# ls -la /etc/rc5.d/*ir*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 19 Apr 4 00:04 /etc/rc5.d/S21irblaster -> ../init.d/irblaster
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 14 Apr 3 21:33 /etc/rc5.d/S21lirc -> ../init.d/lirc

This shows you have lirc starting at 21 now too, which was your original problem.
Just do:
Code:
update-rc.d -f lirc remove
update-rc.d lirc defaults 20
and lirc will go back to starting at 20 before irblaster and all your problems will be solved.


Craig


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 8:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 6
Hi there,

I'm somewhat of a Newbie, but I've been able to get along OK searchig the posts up to now. Unfortunately after my recent upgrade to R5B7 I'm stuck on the IR blaster.

I've tried all the commands in this thread, and I am still left with the following issues....

At first it looked like lirc-serial wasn't running, and now the irblaster seeems to complain about bash....? The problem is I don't exactly know what all this is doing so I don't know how to troubleshoot it. I've given as much deatil as I can though so hopefully someone can find my issue.

1) I have a single pvr350 working with the remore receiver going through it's 1/8inch headphone jack. Live TV is working through it as long as I change the channels myself.

2) With the lirc-ledxmit script from R5A30.2 I found that the Scientific Atlanta 2000 config file works with my Scientific Atlanta Explorer 4200 from Cablevision in New York. I found it at: http://lirc.sourceforge.net/remotes/scientific_atlanta/Explorer_2000

3) I selected the IRBlaster option in the install, replaced the irblaster script with the code above, downloaded and copied the config file to irblaster.conf, and set the hardware.conf file to COM2.

4) I tested irsend and get the following

Code:
root@mythtv:~#  irsend --device=/dev/irblasterd SEND_ONCE SA2000 3
irsend: could not connect to socket
irsend: No such file or directory


I have a homemade transmitter going out of the serial port. It's a single port that can be set to COM1 or COM2 in the bios. I have set it to be COM2 by setting the base address (0x2f8) and the interupt (irq 3). When I check it with a grep I get:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# grep ttyS[0-1] /var/log/messages
May 14 11:05:54 mythtv kernel: serial8250: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
May 14 11:05:54 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 11:05:54 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 11:06:04 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 11:06:07 mythtv kernel: 00:07: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
May 14 21:26:12 mythtv kernel: serial8250: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
May 14 21:26:12 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 21:26:12 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 21:26:22 mythtv kernel: ttyS0: LSR safety check engaged!
May 14 21:26:25 mythtv kernel: 00:07: ttyS1 at I/O 0x2f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A


I tried Mac's advice and yes, /etc/init.d/irblaster <anything> returns errors. I'm convinced this is my problem.... I get:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/irblaster force-reload
/usr/local/bin/ : line 1: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 2: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 3: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 4: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 5: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 6: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 7: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 8: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 9: include: command not found
/usr/local/bin/ : line 10: include: command not found
No process in pidfile `/var/run/irblasterd.pid' found running; none killed.
 


or this:
Code:
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 177: 919: command not found
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 178: 915: command not found
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 179: 919: command not found
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 180: 919: command not found
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 181: 914: command not found
/etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf: line 183: name: command not found


Huh? How did I do that? Did I copy wrong? Did I miss a step? How can I fix it?

Anyway, lirc_serial looks like it's running now becasus I get:
Code:
 grep -A1 lirc_serial: /var/log/messages
May 14 10:46:29 mythtv kernel: lirc_serial: auto-detected active low receiver
May 14 10:46:29 mythtv kernel: lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 0
--
May 14 11:06:05 mythtv kernel: lirc_serial: auto-detected active low receiver
May 14 11:06:05 mythtv kernel: lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 0
--
May 14 21:26:23 mythtv kernel: lirc_serial: auto-detected active low receiver
May 14 21:26:23 mythtv kernel: lirc_dev: lirc_register_plugin: sample_rate: 0


I can also stop and start the lirc daemon as such:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/lirc stop
Stopping lirc daemon: lircmd lircd.
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/lirc start
Starting lirc daemon: lircd.


Finally, I verified that lirc is starting before irblaster:
Code:
root@mythtv:~#  ls -la /etc/rc5.d/*ir*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 14 May 14 10:54 /etc/rc5.d/S20lirc -> ../init.d/lirc
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 19 May 13 10:12 /etc/rc5.d/S21irblaster -> ../init.d/irblaster


So, my thinking is that if I fix the bash script issues in irblaster I'lll be all set. Please let me know what to try next.

Thanks,
-Matt

_________________
Knoppmyth Version: R5E50
1.6Mhz P4 i82845
768MB RAM 160GB HD
nVidia 6200 AGP 128MB
Hauppauge PVR 350
NEC ND3550A DVD Burner


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 8:53 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
mememe wrote:
now the irblaster seeems to complain about bash....?
Usually a symptom of cut-n-paste from windows. Have you checked that your script (and the config file) have unix style line endings rather than dos style?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 11:25 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 6
That's got to be it.

I'm using windows to browse this website and edit files over FTP (WinSCP). My mythtv box is hard to navigate with just the tv out.

I just tried re-pasting the script and config files into a terminal window on PuTTY into nano and I still get the error. I tried again with vi and still the same thing (I made sure the beginning of the files were OK). I can only imagine that since I'm using windows it must be inserting the different line ends.

Is this a setting in PuTTY or a tool for windows that can de-dos the file?

Is there a way to fix the files with a command? (I think sed could do it if I knew what to search for for and what to replace it with (CR? LF? \n?)).

Thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 5:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
just do
Code:
dos2unix /etc/init.d/irblaster
and
Code:
dos2unix /etc/irblaster/irblasterd.conf
A while ago, KnoppMyth didn't come with dos2unix, but you could always just pipe the file through
Code:
tr -d '\r'
.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 7:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 6
OK, That got me there....

The problem was that I pasted the "\"s where the lines wrap in the script and they were throwing the errors. There Once I corrected each line I was able to test it directly on the command line to shake out the syntax.

The next problem was this:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# modprobe lirc_serial
FATAL: Error inserting lirc_serial (/lib/modules/2.6.15-chw-2/misc/lirc_serial.ko): Device or resource busy


Which I eventually fixed by setting my bios to COM1 (IRQ=4, Base=3f8) and now irsend works.

Just one small problem left:

When I reboot, irsend is disabled. lircd is running but not irblaster. I get the Connnection Refused message from irsend....

I have to stop lircd by saying
Code:
/etc/init.d/lirc stop

then I can do
Code:
/etc/init.d/irblaster start

and the change channel script works.

How do I start irblaster instead of lirc on boot?
(or whatever it is I'm doing above)?




P.S. I'm seeing this in dmesg: Sould I worry?
Code:
BUG: using smp_processor_id() in preemptible [00000001] code: modprobe/3479
caller is init_port+0xaf/0x2a0 [lirc_serial]


Thanks for all the help!
-Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 9:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 6
Wait a minute....

On closer inspection I see the remote receiver (running into the pvr350) is not working anymore. I must chose between using the remote or changing channels.....

1) After boot, the irreceiver works
2) It stops working when I stop lirc via: /etc/init.d/lirc stop
3) It still doesn't work after I start lirc via: /etc/init.d/lirc start
4) Once I restart mythfrontend, the irreceiver works again.

I tried the same process except I started irblaster instead of lirc at step 3 and it makes the channels change but then the receiver doesn't work.

I can't start lirc once irblaster is running.... I get this:
Code:
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/irblaster start
Starting irblaster daemon:.
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/lirc start
Starting lirc daemon: lircdlircd: there seems to already be a lircd process with pid 5277
lircd: otherwise delete stale lockfile /var/run/lircd.pid


but if I try starting lirc first I'm back to where I started at boot:

Code:
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/lirc start
Starting lirc daemon: lircd.
root@mythtv:~# /etc/init.d/irblaster start
Starting irblaster daemon:lircd: there seems to already be a lircd process with pid 5323
lircd: otherwise delete stale lockfile /var/run/lircd.pid



The last clue I have is this:
Code:
Stopping irblaster daemon: irblasterdNo process in pidfile `/var/run/irblasterd.pid' found running; none killed.


It seems irblaster is not writing its own pid file specified in start-stop-daemon, but when it runs a lircd.pid file is written instead...... by the singleton lirc daemon is my guess.....

I looked at the lirc script and it is starting the daemon with the --exec option vs. the --pid option. This would lead me to believe there can only be one instance of the lirc daemon running....

There seems to be a conflict. Am I supposed to have a second instance of lirc in init.d as I did with the lirc-led-xmit script? I've been using /etc/init.d/lirc assuming it was the only lircd I needed....

-Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 12:36 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
mememe wrote:
On closer inspection I see the remote receiver (running into the pvr350) is not working anymore. I must chose between using the remote or changing channels.....

Are you sure you updated /etc/init.d/irblaster to the version in the second post in this thread? The conflict with tx card ir receivers was one of the things that this new version fixed.
I think I also changed it so that rather than running the irblasterd instance of lircd using a symbolic link to lircd, it made a copy of the file called /usr/sbin/irblasterd which allowed the two daemons to run side by side without the --exec part in start-stop-daemon from preventing them both running at the same time.
Perhaps check if /usr/sbin/irblasterd is a symbolic link or as file. If it is a link delete it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 7:19 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 6
Eureka.

Back when I hacked your nice script to remove extra line breaks, I deleted the second --pidfile=/var/run/irblaster.d in the start command..... I thought I pasted it twice or something.... It ran fine from the command line, but caused my issues downstream....

I added the second --pid parameter back in and that did it. Thanks for your patience. ;)

I just relearned a good lesson I have already learned from my car..... one should have no extra parts after reassembly! :D

Thanks again,
-Matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 1:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 12:11 pm
Posts: 19
I'd like to see support for the UK Sky digiboxes in the next release if you're still accepting configuration files.

Sky Digibox (UK)

irblaster.conf available at:
http://www.nexusuk.org/projects/mythtv/lirc/lircd.sky.conf

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R5C7 IRblaster Questions
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 1:18 pm
Posts: 45
I currently have an R5B7 Install working perfectly, except the irblaster. What i am thinking about doing is a new clean install of R5C7 with a newly purchased irblaster. Before I take the plunge and undo everything I've done, I just want to get my stuff together. While I'm not a noob exactly, I do need some coaching through linux, so be gentle with your responses.

1) What do I need to do to set up so my Dish Network Video Source will be able to be used? (Zap2it setup, placement of blaster)

2) Is there any additional software/configuration tweaking required with R5C7 for dish Network or is it really good to go out of the box? (channel scriptting)

3) Anything I may need to know about setup with R5C7 and IRBlaster Support since there isn't much talk about it. (what setup entails)

Thanks in advance.
tk

_________________
R5D1, PVR350, ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe, AMD 2200+, SB Live.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
These are the types of posts that raise my ire! This thread is for folks to contribute to code/sample configs so setting up an IRBlaster is easier. Post elsewhere on the forum.

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu