View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Mount USB disk? - Solved
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 8:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 10:35 pm
Posts: 46
After lots and lots of tries and seaching the web and this forum i have to ask for help.

I have a 750Gb NTFS dis that i would love to mount in /myth/usb
I need it to automount everytime the machine boots up.

Any ideas?

From dmesg:
SCSI device sda: 1465149168 512-byte hdwr sectors (750156 MB)
sda: Write Protect is off
sda: Mode Sense: 2d 08 00 00
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
SCSI device sda: 1465149168 512-byte hdwr sectors (750156 MB)
sda: Write Protect is off
sda: Mode Sense: 2d 08 00 00
sda: assuming drive cache: write through
sda: sda1
sd 0:0:0:0: Attached scsi disk sda
usb-storage: device scan complete

/DonLKSAB


Last edited by DonLKSAB on Tue May 20, 2008 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 10:25 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:55 pm
Posts: 1381
Location: Farmington, MI USA
I have an EIDE drive formatted NTFS, and I use /etc/fstab to mount it at bootup on my Kubuntu box:
Code:
/dev/hdc1   /media/hdc1     ntfs    defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0       1

(Adjust for your actual /dev and mountpoint)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 10:35 pm
Posts: 46
Ok.
I have this in my fstab:
/dev/sda1 /myth/usb ntfs defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 1

But still no disk mounted.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 11:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
Did you reboot or use the following command as root?

Code:
mount -a


Also, did you create a new directory in /myth/usb?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 12:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 10:35 pm
Posts: 46
Yes i reboot after every change i do.
And yes /myth/usb exists.

When i do a mount -a this comes up:
root@mythtv:~# mount -a
mount: sysfs already mounted or /sys busy

Then the machine seems to "hang" it stops responding and i cant connect with another SSH.

This is a qlue i guess. I tried to mount the disk with Webmin.
But when i pressed mount webmin got stuck.
Maybe i have a issue with the disk?
It works fine on my Windows machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 12:09 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:16 pm
Posts: 292
Suggestions:

First install ntfs-3g with:
Code:
sudo apt-get install ntfs-3g


Next change the ntfs in your /etc/fstab to ntfs-3g and make sure
that this line comes after the one that mounts /myth. Just putting
your /myth/usb line at the end of /etc/fstab will work. This is
necessary because you are actually doing a nested mount and
thus /myth must be mounted before /myth/usb. I would also
change the trailing 1 on your new fstab line to a 2.

Next make a directory called /myth/usb with:
Code:
sudo -u mythtv mkdir /myth/usb
sudo chmod a+rw /myth/usb
sudo chmod a-x /myth/usb
The a+rw is an attempt to give
everyone access to this directory. The a-x is an attempt to disallow
execution of anything stored there. If you are actually want to
execute stuff from /myth/usb then don't do that last chmod.

Finally reboot and see if it mounts and if you can access it like
you need to.

If it mounts, but you have access denied problems, you may play
with this. I have this mount line for a fat32 partition that I want
to be able to access as the mythtv user:
Quote:
/dev/hdd1 /myth/hdd1 auto users,noexec,uid=mythtv,gid=mythtv,umask=0 0 3
You would have to change the auto to ntfs-3g, the device, and
the mount point for what you want.

Finally, man is your friend, try:
Code:
man fstab
The ntfs-3g is something that would probably take a bit of
browsing to find and attempt.

Cliff

_________________
R5F27 using R5F1 Nvidia drivers
HD-5500 analog from NTSC Sat Rx, with OTA DVB too
GeForce MX-440 SVideo tvout to a TV
Older dual core 3.4ghz Intel CPU
Asus P5PE-VM Motherboard
2 GB RAM
1 TB LVM2
VirtualBox
Samba


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 12:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2006 1:03 pm
Posts: 240
Location: Shakopee, MN USA
Use the following command and see if the drive is already mounted:

Code:
df -h


Also, you might want to see if you can mount the drive manually (as root after installing nfts-3g):

Code:
ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /myth/usb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 10:35 pm
Posts: 46
Thanks for all help.

cliffsjunk that did it.

/DonLKSAB


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu