View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
cecil wrote:
graysky wrote:
@Cesman - What are the idle/load temps of the GPU on the passively cooled 8400GS that you've used in the machine?
62 degrees idle. I'll let you know what it is when I'm using VDPAU. I've compiled -fixes w/ VDPAU. Installing it now, but work work... So, I won't play with it until later.


Thanks for the info. 62C idle means I'll probably need a fan on it.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 1:36 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
The system as been running since I posted 62 deg. It is currently playing back HD (only on a test LCD 1024 x 768) at 68 deg. It did see it peak to 71 deg earlier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:24 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 11:55 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Just FYI -- "temp" programs are notoriously unreliable on new CPUs. I would measure it the old fashioned way before I'd believe your CPU is hitting 71C! (I have an infrared gun I got from Fry's for $80 I use for such purposes.)

_________________
Do you code to live, or live to code?
Search LinHES forum through Google


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
It isn't the CPU itself. It is the GPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
I just got my Sparkle 8400GS 512 Meg (PCI) card and installed it in my frontend machine (mid tower case). Idle temp is about 42C. I played armagetronad in 1280x1024 with maxed out graphic options but only saw the temp hit about 48C. I do not have vdpau as of yet :)

I think the main heat issue with cesman's board is either bad contact between the HS and the GPU, or the Micro ITX case's inability to exhaust the produced heat (or a combo of both).

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 02, 2009 5:04 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
I got pretty far in building one of these guys over the weekend, but had a question about cable management in the cramped spaces available. Any recommendations? It'd probably be OK without the Sparkle graphics card in there, but that card takes up most of the depth of the case. Do you run cables over it or behind it in what little space is there?

Any chance anyone has some pictures of their Ant's innards? Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:01 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 50
As far as bus bandwidth goes, bluray disk movies have a max bitrate of 54Mbits/sec (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bluray). Most HiDef stuff you get will have a lower rate.

PCI has a max rate of 133Mbits/sec (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Local_Bus)

Even with real PCI rates being half the maximum there is still plenty of room to push the video stream over PCI to the graphics card.

Don't equate or compare XvMC with VDPAU, they are different beasts. Comparisons between what XvMC can cope with on PCI bus are irrelevant, XvMC has never been a complete offload.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
While you statement is true, remember that is total PCI bus bandwidth therefore if you streaming through a PCI gigabit Ethernet card or a using a PCI based ATA100 hard disk control you will actually be moving that data across the bus twice!

I doubt that is the case for you but wanted to clarify as I got burned by PCI bandwidth limits on my server (P3 vintage) in which I had an ATA100 raid controller and my gigabit NIC both on the PCI bus as well as a PCI graphics card. I spent days trying to figure out why my transfer speeds were horrible from the harddisk but yet network benchmarks (which generate data on the fly and don't touch the hard drive) were on par with expected results.

Upgrading to an Athlon XP based system with a 4X interconnect and onboard ATA100 controller solved my problem.

Martian

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:02 pm
Posts: 95
Quote:
PCI has a max rate of 133Mbits/sec


That would be 133MBytes/sec (big B not little b)

real world is more like 90-100MBytes/sec.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2005 8:00 pm
Posts: 50
davilla wrote:
Quote:
PCI has a max rate of 133Mbits/sec


That would be 133MBytes/sec (big B not little b)

real world is more like 90-100MBytes/sec.


ooops you are right, which makes my point even stronger, and Martian's response probably less relevant.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 12:41 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Sweden
davilla wrote:
Quote:
PCI has a max rate of 133Mbits/sec


That would be 133MBytes/sec (big B not little b)
.


I've seen people (not here of course :) ) measure transfer rates in mb/sec - poor them! :roll:

Cheers,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:45 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:51 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Mackay, Australia
I thought people looking at this machine may be interested in the review I was reading about its ability to play back HD with onboard graphics

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/di ... no_10.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
I was able to play back 720p over-the-air MPEG2 video with on-board graphics with no problems.

1080i MPEG2 recordings "glitched" from time to time (big clumps of macroblocking) but was close to being watchable.

When I tried to play back videos at 1.2x speed, however, it could not keep up with the 1080i videos and didn't play back smoothly at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 10:03 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 10:00 am
Posts: 1
Well, it works fine for me now. I don't know if there is anyone who still encounter the problem. I am using the newest machine.

Simulation pret immobilier


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1995
Location: /dev/null
Anyone running an Atom-based system: can you get lm-sensors to work?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu