View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: ASRock ION Nettop
PostPosted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 2:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:21 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Manchester UK
This Box does what it says on the tin and at GBP 180+vat its a nice piece of kit !!!!!!!

Its is based on a Atom 330 which according to the article below can be clocked to 2.1g but why you would want to I dont know.

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=asrock_nettop_330

Looking at the speed tests I got using mplayer and VDPAU these will make a great frontend.

The results of some preliminary speed tests are below.

Code:

############Test Files##############

File A

Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 1280x720 25.00fps [Video]
Audio: AAC 48000Hz stereo 1536Kbps [Audio]
1.3GB / Hour

File B

Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 832x468 25.00fps [Video]
Audio: AAC 48000Hz stereo 1536Kbps [Audio]
650MB/Hour

File C

Video: DIVX 480x360 29.97fps [Stream 00]
Audio: MPEG Audio Layer 3 48000Hz stereo 128Kbps [Stream 01]
550MB/hour

File D

Video: XVID 624x352 23.98fps [Stream 00]
Audio: MPEG Audio Layer 3 48000Hz stereo 123Kbps [Stream 01]
540MB/Hour

File E

Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 1920x800 23.98fps [Video]
Audio: Dolby AC3 48000Hz 6ch [Audio]
Text [Subtitle]
Matriska Video 6GB/Hour

############Tests carried out at 1388x768##############

Idle just at the Menu

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:31:49        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      0.10      0.00      0.12      0.10      0.00     99.68


Displaying video file A using default R6.08 mplayer settings


Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:33:00        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all     23.60      0.00      1.18      0.00      0.00     75.22

Displaying video file A using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:45:46        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      1.84      0.00      0.38      0.13      0.00     97.66


Displaying video file B using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:47:28        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      0.27      0.00      2.30      0.12      0.00     97.30

Displaying live TV (DVB-t) broadcast using std mythtv

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:48:30        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all     20.51      0.00      4.53      0.22      0.00     74.74

Displaying video file C using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:50:05        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      1.50      0.00      2.19      0.57      0.00     95.75

Displaying video file D using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

00:50:55        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      3.24      0.00      1.67      0.57      0.00     94.52


############Tests carried out at 1920x1080##############


Displaying video file E using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s

Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

18:19:56        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      0.71      0.00      1.44      0.00      0.00     97.85


Displaying video file A using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s



Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

18:20:40        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %
Average:        all      1.74      0.00      0.61      0.49      0.00     97.16



Displaying video file B using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s



Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

18:21:33        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %stealidle
Average:        all      0.07      0.00      2.19      0.47      0.00     97.27



Displaying video file D using

mplayer--resumer.pl -fs -zoom -vc ffh264vdpau,ffmpeg12vdpau,ffvc1vdpau,ffwmv3vdpau, %s


Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

18:22:39        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle
Average:        all      3.35      0.03      1.68      0.00      0.00     94.95


Displaying live TV (DVB-t) broadcast using std mythtv


Linux 2.6.28-LinHES (ASRockIONMainBed)    08/12/09    _i686_   (4 CPU)

18:23:33        CPU     %user     %nice   %system   %iowait    %steal     %idle

Average:        all     13.64      0.02      1.53      0.07      0.00     84.73




The installation of R6.08 was painless I used alsa sound card and had to turn the volume up in amixer.

I also had to uncoment useDFP in the xorg.conf to get my HDMI to work then it defaults to 1080i which overscans by about 30pixels all round. But I just adjusted this in myth settings, this is probably just a fault with my Cheap LCD TV.

I will put in a few more bits when I get chance I intend to get another one soon so will do a step by step guide .

_________________
Running:-
Intel 930 3GHz dual Core
Thermaltake Fanless CPU Cooler
Asus P5GS
Samsung 750G Sata HDD
8400 512m Video Card
2 * jetway DVB-t
1 * Haupage DVB-S2 Card
Samsung Sata 16x DVDRW
2048M Ram
1 * Netop Ion 330


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 23, 2009 9:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
Simon,
I'm trying to install R5.5 on an AsRock ION 330, and the install fails just after USB/Firewire detection with the error message "Can't find KNOPPIX file system"...blah blah blah...

Did you do anything to BIOS settings prior to R6 install? I've been fiddling with this for 2 hours, no joy!

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R5.5
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 7:21 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 1:21 pm
Posts: 161
Location: Manchester UK
Hi Steeve

I haven't run R5.5 on the Nettop Ion I started with R6 as I wanted VDPAU.

As for the Bios No It just worked out of the box.

Is this a Backend of a frontend ??

If its a frontend you could try using it from the cd just to check R5.5 will run on it .[/img]

_________________
Running:-
Intel 930 3GHz dual Core
Thermaltake Fanless CPU Cooler
Asus P5GS
Samsung 750G Sata HDD
8400 512m Video Card
2 * jetway DVB-t
1 * Haupage DVB-S2 Card
Samsung Sata 16x DVDRW
2048M Ram
1 * Netop Ion 330


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R5.5
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 1:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
simonf wrote:
Hi Steeve

I haven't run R5.5 on the Nettop Ion I started with R6 as I wanted VDPAU.

As for the Bios No It just worked out of the box.

Is this a Backend of a frontend ??

If its a frontend you could try using it from the cd just to check R5.5 will run on it .[/img]


I'll try that tonight. Last evening I tried "testcd" and the same failure/error message occurred. My enthusiasm is taking a bath on this one; had high hopes for it as a remote frontend. I'm not yet ready to upgrade to R6 as I haven't been able to get my backend to accept the install on a spare drive. It keeps erroring after install, something about UUID and whatnot.

Lots of homework to do...

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
Read tjc's post in this thread and it should help you straighten out any UUID issues:

http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... light=uuid

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
You'll want to use R6 on this hardware.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 5:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
cecil wrote:
You'll want to use R6 on this hardware.


Thanks, Cecil. I was afraid you'd say that. My intention is to move to R6...as soon as I can figure out why my R5.5 backend hardware refuses to allow me to install R6! (I'll start another thread for that).

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 6:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:37 pm
Posts: 2657
Location: Whittier, Ca
The same version of MythTV (well, the same protocol version) is on R5.5 and R6. You should have no issues connecting a remote SBE or frontend running R6 to a R5.5 MBE.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:20 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
cecil wrote:
The same version of MythTV (well, the same protocol version) is on R5.5 and R6. You should have no issues connecting a remote SBE or frontend running R6 to a R5.5 MBE.


N'kay. This is true. I've installed R6 as a frontend-only on my ASRock ION 330 with no troubles. It connects to my R5.5 master backend, and everything works as advertised.

Thanks again, Cecil!

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 3:05 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Little Rock
I hope this is an appropriate place to ask since I'm planning on purchasing this same system: did you install R6 with the box connected to a TV via HDMI or did you need to install it connected by VGA first and then connect it to your TV via HDMI? From the first post it looks like the latter since you changed the xorg.conf.

Also, I'm reading elsewhere that ALSA settings needed a lot of tweaking to achieve HDMI audio output as well. Are you using a different audio output or did HDMI audio work for you without any changes?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:11 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 135
Location: Decatur, Ga., USA
DoomedTX wrote:
I hope this is an appropriate place to ask since I'm planning on purchasing this same system: did you install R6 with the box connected to a TV via HDMI or did you need to install it connected by VGA first and then connect it to your TV via HDMI? From the first post it looks like the latter since you changed the xorg.conf.

Also, I'm reading elsewhere that ALSA settings needed a lot of tweaking to achieve HDMI audio output as well. Are you using a different audio output or did HDMI audio work for you without any changes?


I can answer some of these questions. I have installed R6 on this box connected via HDMI to a 720p 42" Samsung plasma. No problems, and R6 got the resolution correct first try. Very nice picture. Have not done any ALSA tweaking at all...not necessary. S/PDIF is connected to my receiver (Harman Kardon AVR-347). Have not attempted HDMI audio.

Hope this helps.

-sTv

_________________
R7.3 Backend
CPU: 1.8 GHz
RAM: 2Gb
Drives: 500Gb IDE; IDE DVD-RW
Mobo: eMachines
Tuners (Analog): PVR-250
Tuners (Digital): DCT-6200 Motorola Cable Box, HDHomeRun (OTA + cable)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 9:47 am
Posts: 535
Location: Ottawa, Canada
cecil wrote:
The same version of MythTV (well, the same protocol version) is on R5.5 and R6. You should have no issues connecting a remote SBE or frontend running R6 to a R5.5 MBE.

You know, this is REALLY important information!

What it means for me (the dude with 4 front ends, 1 master + 1 slave) is that I can upgrade my network one element at a time.

I had assumed that given the large time delta between the releases that the protocol version was likely different.

C


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu