View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:11 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
thornsoft wrote:
How about Dragon 1.0/1.1 systems? Same recommendation applies?

It's certainly the case that the AV-710 will have problems on the Dragon 1.x systems, but the capability of onboard digital audio has not yet been evaluated, given that the core of the Dragon 1.x design is nearly 4 years old and not fully supported anymore. However, my main test machine when working on my R5.5 contributions was a Dragon 1.1 system, so R5.5 will work well in general with a Dragon 1.x system.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
tama102 wrote:
-Physically removed the chaintech card
-Changed the AC97 controller in the BIOS from ‘disabled’ to ‘Auto’
- Ran aslaconf as root (this recognized the onboard card, and said that it set it up appropriately)
- I then tried nearly every comination of audio settings in the Utilities > Setup > General section.

Still no luck. I don’t know what I am doing wrong? Any help would be great, preferably the steps you took on a v1 dragon to get this working. Thanks

Tweaker offers a handy script for configuring this for you. Exit MythTV, then run this command as root:
Code:
twk_audio.pl --implement digital

and it should set up MythTV and mplayer to use digital audio. If it doesn't work, please let me know. It wasn't tested with Dragon 1.x's onboard digital audio, but I tried to make the script look for general patterns to support a wide array of audio devices.

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 6:56 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Human,

I rand that script as root. It ran, and I noticed that it modified my asound.conf file to the code shown below.

Code:
pcm.spdifdmix {
        type dmix
        ipc_key 1337
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,2"
                format S32_LE
        }
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm spdifdmix
        }
}




However the sound still does not work. The red 'spdif light' was emitting with my old asound.conf file that was setup for the chaintech, and now the light is not on. The code from my previous asound.conf is shown below.
Code:
pcm.envy_spdifdmix {
        type dmix
        ipc_key 1337
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,1"
                format S32_LE
        }
}

pcm.envy_spdif {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm envy_spdifdmix
        }
}

pcm.!default {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm envy_spdifdmix
        }
}

# For ogle
#
pcm.!spdif {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,1"
                format S32_LE
        }
}

# For mplayer ao (mplayer -ac hwac3 -ao alsa1x:mplayer)
# For vlc, use mplayer as alsa device
#
pcm.!iec958 {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,1"
                format S32_LE
        }
}

pcm.mplayer {
        type plug
        slave {
                pcm "hw:0,1"
                format S32_LE
        }
}




I even tried the asound.conf file from the wiki:

http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/index.php/Co ... ital_Sound

Still no luck.


Here is the output from my aplay -l.
Code:
root@mythtv:~# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 0: Intel ICH [NVidia CK804]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: CK804 [NVidia CK804], device 2: Intel ICH - IEC958 [NVidia CK804 - IEC958]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0



It looks like my card is 0, and my device is 2, so the new asound.conf should be setup correctly. What else could it be?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Update to the last post:


After a reboot, the 'red light' on the digital spdif output is now ON. Despite this, I still do not have any sound from that digital out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:03 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Did you run alsamixer and check the volume and mute settings?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
tjc wrote:
Did you run alsamixer and check the volume and mute settings?


I did. I think everything is set right, but I am not 100% sure. A screenshot of my alsamixer is below if anyone wants to double check.

Image

and the continuation...

Image

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:29 am
Posts: 2419
Location: Mechanicsburg, PA
tama102, I can verify that the mixer and asound.conf settings look correct.

Try playing something with mplayer to see if it's a system-wide problem or just MythTV-specific:
Code:
mplayer /myth/music/some_file.mp3

_________________
KnoppMyth R5.5
MythiC Dragon v2.0
Join the KnoppMyth Frappr!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Human wrote:
tama102, I can verify that the mixer and asound.conf settings look correct.

Try playing something with mplayer to see if it's a system-wide problem or just MythTV-specific:
Code:
mplayer /myth/music/some_file.mp3



I will try it and report back with the findings once I get home from work around 5:30pm CST.

(Its a shame because I can use Putty to code, and Xming to view from my work, I just cant hear anything unless I am home in front of my system!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:08 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
alright. I played an mp3 that was on my hard drive. Still no sound. It appears that the mp3 played fine as indicated by my x-term output shown below:

Code:
root@mythtv:~# mplayer /myth/tmp/Coldplay\ -\ Fix\ You\ \(Album\ Version\).mp3
MPlayer dev-SVN-r26260-4.2.3 (C) 2000-2008 MPlayer Team
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ (Family: 15, Model: 35, Step   ping: 2)
CPUflags:  MMX: 1 MMX2: 1 3DNow: 1 3DNow2: 1 SSE: 1 SSE2: 1
Compiled with runtime CPU detection.
mplayer: could not open config files /root/.lircrc and /etc/lircrc
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to read LIRC config file ~/.lircrc.

Playing /myth/tmp/Coldplay - Fix You (Album Version).mp3.
Audio file file format detected.
Clip info:
 Title: Fix You
 Artist: Coldplay
 Album: X&Y
 Year: 2005
 Comment: www.mixermusic.net
www.desc
 Track: 4
 Genre: Pop
==========================================================================
Forced audio codec: hwac3
Forced audio codec: hwdts
Opening audio decoder: [mp3lib] MPEG layer-2, layer-3
AUDIO: 44100 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 192.0 kbit/13.61% (ratio: 24000->176400)
Selected audio codec: [mp3] afm: mp3lib (mp3lib MPEG layer-2, layer-3)
==========================================================================
AO: [alsa] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...
A: 127.5 (02:07.5) of 296.0 (04:56.0)  1.0%



I am still confused.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 98
I have the same issue. Dragon 1.1 (with a few additions (tuners/disk)) I tried the same things Tama102 tried.

I took out the AV710 card as recommended...and I get no sound out the onboard.

Surely tama102 and I can not be the only ones still using a Dragon 1.1 based system with the Neo4 Platinum motherboard. Has anyone gotten this to work???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
Did you run the tweaker script after removing the board? As Human said above, run this as root:
Code:
twk_audio.pl --implement digital

IIRC he was using a Dragon 1.1 box as his test machine during development..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 98
I just put the av710 card back in. Ran the tweaker for audio and it works fine. I'm going with that for now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:55 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 98
tjc wrote:
Did you run the tweaker script after removing the board? As Human said above, run this as root:
Code:
twk_audio.pl --implement digital

IIRC he was using a Dragon 1.1 box as his test machine during development..


I did. I pulled the card out before doing a completely fresh "wiped clean" install of 5.5. Then once up, I ran the tweaker script exactly as you have it. I couldn't get audio from myth or from mplayer playing a mp3.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 8:39 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:55 am
Posts: 98
Human, (or anyone else with a 1.1 Dragon)

When you were testing the release with the 1.1 Dragon, how was the CPU performance? Any tweaks you can recommend? I've been fiddling with different decoders and deinterlacing methods, but no matter what I use, I'm seeing 90% CPU on any HD recordings. And a couple of recordings peg the CPU and/or crash the frontend when I start them.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:00 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 9:10 am
Posts: 107
Location: Minneapolis, MN
abrendel,

Once again, I have the same CPU usage issues as you with my Dragon. Please see my own solution to my problems on this post.

http://knoppmyth.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... 969#113969


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 81 posts ] 
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu