View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: R6 (linHES) on Proliant
PostPosted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 9:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 41
Running as stand-alone backend.

Even though the Smart Array RAID controller is recognized and supported via the cciss driver, the install script won't find the logical drives (/dev/cciss/c0d0 etc) as installable disks.

Updated:

I went back and started reading the code of the MythVantage install process to get a better understanding of how it works. Basically the MythVantage binary creates an /etc/systemconfig file which has most of the config parameters. It then calls install_proxy.sh to actually perform the installation. Looking at the code for install_proxy.sh, it can be called manually with the following command line:

install_proxy.sh <install type> <root drive> <boot fs type> <boot fs size> <data fs type> <data fs size> <swap size>.

MythVantage -? shows you that you can bring up each config page manually, and it will update the /etc/systemconfig file as it goes. So after running it to configure the network, etc, you can use:

install_proxy.sh full_install_it cciss/c0d0 etx3 10000 etx3 20000 2048

to do the actual installation.

This will get you about 95% of the way there -- in my case there were a couple of services which weren't being started automatically, but that's easy mode.

B

---- ORIGINAL (i.e. HARD method) below

To solve this, I downloaded and burned the Arch Linux net-install ISO and booted from that. Manually editted the "/etc/pacman.conf" file to point to the Knoppmyth package database, and did an /arch/setup to run the Arch installation. I also had to manually grub the boot partition for some reason (this might be pilot error).

This got the system booting, and then I had to manually install and configure mysql, X11, runit, and mythbackend.

All in all not EASY by any means, but not beyond the abilities of someone with reasonable google skills.[/b]


Last edited by bpmcgee on Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:50 am, edited 2 times in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 21, 2009 8:33 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1371
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Another option in this instance where you have a hardware product that might be complicated to setup , you could set up say Arch Linux for example and then install LinHES as a Virtual Machine. This way you will not have the problems of installation issues of LinHES.

However you do have the trade off of the slight speed degradation of being inside a VM, without experience I can not say what effect this would have.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat May 19, 2007 4:40 pm
Posts: 41
Girkers,

Thanks for the suggestion. I updated my above post to reflect my second effort -- to better understand the LinHES install process.

This second effort was much easier!

B


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu