LinHES Forums
http://forums.linhes.org/

radeon 9200 tvout works with ati linux driver (8.24.8)!
http://forums.linhes.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9889
Page 1 of 1

Author:  mirr0r [ Tue May 02, 2006 9:12 am ]
Post subject:  radeon 9200 tvout works with ati linux driver (8.24.8)!

First, THANKS to knoppmyth developper and community for their great job!
Second, sorry for my bad english...

With a lot of work I was able to use my ati 9200 tv out, this is my hardware:
MB: i815
CPU: Pentium 3 Coppermine 866 Mhz
RAM: 192 MB
GRAP. CARD: Ati Radeon 9200
TV CARD: Pinnacle pctv pro

Knoppmyth vers. R5B7

You need: 1) knoppmyth workly! 2) ati linux driver 8.24.8 [I use "ati driver installer" not rpm package], download it at https://support.ati.com/ics/support/def ... lderID=300

In a console as root:
Code:
cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /etc/X11/XF86Config-4-bkp    //make a backup of XFConfig-4 file.
cp /etc/X11/XF86Config /etc/X11/XF86Config-bkp      //make a backup of XFConfig file.
rm /etc/X11/XF86Config-4            //remove previous xfree config file.
rm /etc/X11/XF86Config            //remove previous xfree base config file.
xf86config               //follow instruction for build a new XF86Config file, use "radeon" driver.


go to direcory where you downloaded ati linux driver:
Code:
cd /path/to/download_directory


Code:
chmod +x ati-driver-installer-8.24.8-x86.run   //change file permission in executive
./ati-driver-installer-8.24.8-x86.run      //start installation setup, follow the instruction

when installation program finished:
Code:
aticonfig -i /etc/X11/XF86Config --initial    //this command edit XF86Config with fglrx driver. Try "aticonfig --help | less" for more option
nano /etc/X11/XF86Config         //follow the instruction below:

------ INSTRUCTION FOR EDITING XF86Config FILE ----
I don t know if there is a bug in the last driver, but after reboot my first monitor become my tv and my pc monitor switch off when start x server...
You have to edit tv resolution in section "Screen":

Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "** ATI Radeon (generic) [radeon]"
Monitor "My Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

and add your pc monitor resolution:


Section "Screen"
Identifier "aticonfig Screen 0"
Device "ATI Graphics Adapter 0"
Monitor "aticonfig Monitor 0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
Modes "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
|
----- END EDITING XF86Config FILE------------------

You can find my XF86Config file here:

http://mio.discoremoto.virgilio.it/discodimirror



Ok everything is done!! now reboot your knoppmyth... ;-)

On next boot, in a console, you can try:
Code:
fireglcontrolpanel

for some dual head options throught graphical interfaces.

If you have some problem, restore old config file; in a console as root:
Code:
mv /etc/X11/XF86Config-bkp /etc/X11/XF86Config         //restore old XF86Config file.
mv /etc/X11/XF86Config-4-bkp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4      //restore old XF86Config-4 file.


If you find some error in this mini how-to please write me.

Question: my tv recording is not smoothly, I need more "power" (cpu, new tv card, ram) or I can do some optimization?? Anybody with my same hardware is able to make good record?
Ciao,

Mirr0r

P.S. for italian user: I able to use xmltv with "grabmed" (http://www.xiaprojects.com/www/prodotti ... umentation) write me if u want some information

Author:  nickread [ Tue May 02, 2006 7:45 pm ]
Post subject: 

I think you're borderline for sw encoding. Some more RAM will help, but for best results get a Hauppauge TV card like PVR150. I have the same HW as you but use a PVR350 for encoding and decoding - no problem at all.

Author:  Wizzard~Of~Ozz [ Thu May 04, 2006 5:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

After installing the driver, I found a blank screen, came across this and using your xconfig works, but only in 24bit colour depth.. changing it to anything else causes issues (blank screen) and I found playback and TV to be jittery at best. using the default config over the ATI driver yeilded better performance.

XP2400
768Mb ram
Hauppauge PVR150 MCE
ATI Radeon 9200

Guess if I want to use Svideo out I'll buy a Nvidia card that apparently has better drivers for linux.

Author:  tophee [ Fri May 05, 2006 5:36 am ]
Post subject: 

Not sure if it's a Nvidia problem or a wider Myth/Linux problem, but 32 bit colour doesn't work.

Author:  Wizzard~Of~Ozz [ Fri May 05, 2006 5:42 am ]
Post subject: 

The problem also arose when testing 16bit.. Figured it would yield better performance. Seems like it's still a picky driver..

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/