View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 6:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Hi,

I have got some channels icons displaying ok but I want to change and add some.
I have read here: http://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Channel_icons that the icons are stored in:
.mythtv/channels
How to I copy the icon files to that directory? I cannot see it when browsing on the network I
can only see /home and /myth,
I guess because it is a root location?

thanks for any help

Ryan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 8:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 6:49 am
Posts: 92
Files that begin with "." are hidden files (same for directories), that is why you don't see them with a normal ls command.

To find them, you can do an
Code:
ls -a
and hidden files and directories will be shown.

Locate is a great help as well, if you do a
Code:
locate channels
you will see a bunch of file locations, one of which is
Code:
/home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels
so if you
Code:
cd /home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels
you will go to the channels directory.

HTH
Bruce.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:34 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:03 am
Posts: 210
Location: Roseville, MI
I would recommend running a scan an noted in the wiki link, then you can manually "adjust" the channel icons using webmin. That seems to be the easiest way for me. You can navigate the mythtv mysql database for the channel icon paths and "adjust" as required.

I will try to find a post I did some time ago that spelled it out a bit more.

_________________
-Roseville, Michigan USA
LinHES R8: FE/BE, FE (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 5:40 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Thank you both for the info. I have found out a a few more things, although I think it is getting more confusing.

If a browse the network on a windows machine and have hidden files and directories shown I can see.
\home\.mythtv\channels
which is empty, but I know there are channels icons shown in Mythweb and TV so they must be somewhere else.

If I use Putty and log in as Mythtv I can see the same info as in windows. If I log in as root I can see different
directories. I can go to \.mythtv\channels
and in that directory is the channel icons.

How do I copy files into the \.mythtv\channels directory?

PS I would be interested how to do the channel icon change with webmin too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
What user did you use log into your myth box with putty?

Since you said that you can see .mythtv/channels my guess is that you used the mythtv user.

In linux when you log onto a server it takes you to the home directory of that user.
So if you connected to your myth box as user mythtv you are actually at:
Code:
/home/mythtv

In the directory structure. From here it you use the pwd command it will return the full path to your current location.
Code:
/home/mythtv

Also if you enter the command
Code:
cd /

It will take you to the root directory. Enter pwd again and it will return
Code:
/

No if you enter the command
Code:
cd

It will return you to the current users "home directory"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 26, 2014 11:26 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Hi, thanks for the help, If you have a look at my post again you will see that I logged in as Mythtv and as Root at different times. The confusing thing is there seems
to be two directories named .mythtv\channels one for Mythtv and one for Root. The Mythtv one is empty and the Root one has
the icons. I have read that since Mythtv 0.27 that the icons moved to the root location.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 12:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
I am assuming that you are doing a new install and not a migration from a previous version. If so perhaps this will help:

Quote:
Starting with version 0.27, a single location for channel icons is used. By default, it will be in the .mythtv/channels directory of the user that runs mythbackend. Typically," mythtv". The location is defined in the built-in ChannelIcons Storage Group (it's not necessary to create or change the ChannelIcons Storage Group.)


So the default path to the channels should be
Code:
/home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels


Hope that clears it up for you. You might also want to look here as well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Ok got it sorted.

Looking at the channel editor in setup a saw the downloaded icons are kept in

/root/.mythtv/channels/nameoficon.jpg

I copied via windows to the mythtv channels directory the missing icons.

For all the missing icons I changed the location in the setup to

/home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels/nameoficon.jpg

So now some of the icons are in the root location and some are in the mythtv location
but it works. Shows up on mythweb and on the tv channels when viewing.

Below is what I did for reference if anyone else needs to know.

Thanks for all the help.

PS. Computers! just when I thought I could enjoy the fruits of my labour the computer now
won't past POST..........never had an issue before......might be RAM.....no sure.....



Browse on the network and copy files via windows to \home\.mythtv\channels

On a running Linhes computer.

Press Esc to get out of the Linhes Menu

Then

Alt 2 (stop backend)

Alt S (loads setup menu)

Select

5. Channel editor

select the channel and press enter

then type in the location of the icons

icon: /home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels/nameoficon.jpg


Save (finish)

Once done for all channels

Then

Esc

Alt 3 (restart backend)

Alt m (restart frontend)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 6:18 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Now that I'm trying out a new system and running MythTV 0.28 the channel icons locations have changed compared to older versions of MythTV. I can download the icons in the channel editor but some icons are incorrect. I have read online a few things but I can't work it out and there does not seem to be much info nor do I understand how it works eg. this https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Channel_ico ... l_Location

Can anyone tell me an (easy :) ) way of changing the channel icons.

thanks

Ryan


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1194
Location: SC
I don't think anything changed with where the channel are stored between 0.27 and 0.28. On a default LinHES install icons that are downloaded should be in /home/mythtv/.mythtv/channels If you have your own channel icons just copy them to that directory. Then you need to assign the files to the channels. Do that in mythtv-setup as you outlined above. Or with .28 you can also do it in the new WebFrontend under Setup > Advanced Setup > Guide Data > Channel Editor


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 15, 2016 1:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
Doh! I should of re read my own post more carefully. I forgot about pressing Enter on the channel icon to get to the extra edit of the channel. I checked out the Webfrontend and it was easy to change the icons with that. Thanks for the info.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 5:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
I though the icons would update by now but on the system (program guide) itself the icons are the correct new ones. If I use Mythweb the icons are mostly updated one is a broken link. If I use WebFrontend they are still the old icons. Is there a way of refreshing the icons for Mythweb and probably front ends?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 6:49 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1194
Location: SC
They have always updated immediately for me. I am not sure of any other cache. Maybe try clearing the browsers cache.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 9:14 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 3:48 pm
Posts: 997
Location: Lexington, Ky
New Icons show up immediately in mythweb, but require a frontend restarted to show up there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2016 6:18 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 52
Location: Australia
I have tried clearing the cache on the browser but no luck.
In Mythweb if I click on image to view it, the location is http://192.168.1.3/mythweb/data/tv_icons/abc.jpg
In Myth TV Web Frontent the image is http://192.168.1.3:6544/Guide/GetChanne ... &Height=57

The frontend on the system is ok and the icons are correct but it seems that it is not updating the mythweb icons they seem to be stored elsewhere, I tried looking for mythweb directory on my system but I could not find it?


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu