View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
G'day all

I am working how to upgrade...
I have a 40g / root disk that was my original install.
I then added a 250g sata mounted on /myth for recordings.

I now have a 300g ide for r5c7
(I am not sure, but I get issues that might be down to my sata disk)

My plan is...
1 - backup
2 - unplug the 40g and 250g (removes confusion)
3 - Do a new install of r5c7
4 - recover from the backup, after plugging old disks back in
5 - setup for the new tuner structure
6 - copy data from sata to new 300g disk
7 - Do auto upgrade (I edited this on, this will fix/update the db if required)

Does anyone see any issue with this? I think if I just upgraded my existing 40g disk I would not be able to recover the /cache partion.

Will I need to upgrade as well, I have seen a lot about upgrading but not much on those of us who had r5a22 with the svn database structure included in error.

I can see that an upgrade blows away the / partition but leaves the /myth partion, so I don't think there will be an issue, but there is some database work since after you upgrade and restore the database the database will be on the old version, is there anything special that needs to be done here?

(I also have a mythbackend freeze issue that I hope will go away with this upgrade)

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Last edited by stinga on Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:26 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi stinga,

I would suggest that since there are some other issues occurring that if you have a spare drive, do an install so you can do some testing & evaluation. That way you keep your original package intack as a fall back.

The /cache goes away in R5C7 so you could use that space for a different purpose, store music, images, and other misc stuff. Depending the size you even add a second os (I use edubuntu)

Actually I changed the path for the /cache/cache to /myth/tv long before it became used in the R5B-C series. I just made it small ~2 gig or less.

Can't help you with the db but I never had issue going A16, A26, A30. Did a friends from A22 > A30 without issues. But your mileage may vary.. Maybe also check the wiki for hints.

MIke


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
Thanks Mike,

Since I am going to a newer, bigger disk I was going to keep my exiting disk as a back up anyway, until I was happy with the install.

You don't see anything wrong with the actual plan of steps, do you?

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 6:37 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
See the R5C7 upgrade hints thread, I hashed something very similar out with marc.aronson who was also upgrading from an R5A series release and adding more disk space. http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=10116


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi stinga,

I get the impression that you have a firm basic handle on stuff. Personnally I am a bit of a glutton for punishment and here would be my approch.. just to offer some food for thought.

Take your current system and do a good back up, follow tjc's suggestions to also do a backup of the "special stuff" you have done. Then you have two, one standard, one enhanced. Make a copy of your /etc/fstab, especially the line for the /dev/sda_ /myth write it down on a piece of paper. Oh energy conservative huh? Then add this line and then poke in a memory stick.
/dev/sda1 /stick vfat defaults,user,noauto,showexec,umask=022 0 0
mkdir /stick
mount /stick
cp /etc/fstab /stick
cp /<anything-else-you-want> /stick
umount /stick
remove stick

Then disconnect the drives and put in your new drive and install the R5A22. At this point your system is close to original without the tweaks. Since your backup is on the serial drive, you would nead to edit the /etc/fstab to gain access to the serial drive however edit the line to be mountable as /old-myth
mkdir /old-myth
While you are there add the line for the /stick and
mkdir /stick
plug in stick
mount /stick
now you have access to the old saved tweaks and files :)
mount /dev/sda_ /old-myth (what ever your sda is)
cp -a /old-myth /myth
go have a coffee ~ beer ~ glass of water as this will take a few minutes.
When it is done, goto the menu and do a Restore! When finished, reboot.
It should be real close to where you were originally, minus any tweaks. Run it for a while and see if the problems you were having still exist with the new drive. If happy, upgrade to R5C7 and try it out.

But that is just me and my approch :)
Have a great day!
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 2:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
G'day,

Thanks for info mjl, upgrading to a new disk I don't have a problem with, it was more the process of moving to the new release from a release that chouldn't have happened.
Maybe the upgrade script takes care of it, but I didn't want to break everything!

My plane is to do a new install to the new disk, thus getting rid of the cache partion, then copy back the database and any other tweaks I have done and then do an autoupgrade I think that will cover everything and if all esle fails I can got back to my old disk.

Thanks again

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu