View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 3:46 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:41 am
Posts: 25
I'm currently testing KnoppMyth (R5A16) .
I'm using an old box I had lying around, and put a WinTV PVR-500MCE in it.
Not having used KnoppMyth before, and being a Linux newbie, it took a lot of reading, but I finally got the PVR-500 card to show the TV picture, using ptune-ui.pl. and either cat /dev/video0 > input.mpg | xine input.mpg or mplayer -vo xv /dev/video0.

However, I still have a problem. The soundcard in the box is old, a SoundBlaster Vibra16C PnP (yes,it's an ISA card). When the machine boots, the sound card is recognized
Code:
Sep 18 04:04:26 kg-mythtv kernel: pnp: SB audio device quirk - increasing port range
Sep 18 04:04:26 kg-mythtv kernel: isapnp: Card 'Creative ViBRA16C PnP'
Sep 18 04:04:26 kg-mythtv kernel: isapnp: 1 Plug & Play card detected total

but for some reason, the necessary modules aren't loaded, and /var/log/mythtv/mythbackend.log contains errors like this:
Code:
2005-09-20 06:00:41.461 Could not open audio device: /dev/dsp

After running 'alsaconf' and getting it to probe legacy devices, the necessary modules for the sb16 card are loaded, and it works.
How can I make this happen at boot? Ie. what is the correct way to configure this?

_________________
Torfinn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
HI,

When you do the alsaconf and it finds the sb, it asks about installation. Jot the file name snd_sb ?? and save for later. You should be able to manually as root;
# modprobe snd_sb ??
then, after a reboot and the sound works ?
Iadd a line to your /etc/init.d/bootmish.sh to have the system do that for you on boot up. also as root;
# echo "modprobe snd_sb ?? " >> /etc/init.d/bootmish.sh
will do that step.

Old stuff is a great way to learn, just have patience :)
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 4:41 am
Posts: 25
mjl wrote:
HI,
When you do the alsaconf and it finds the sb, it asks about installation. Jot the file name snd_sb ?? and save for later. You should be able to manually


I have even tried alsaconf --config /root/alsaconf.txt (where /root/alsaconf.txt is an existing file, with write permissions, and non-empty). No matter what I do; alsaconf will not write to any config file, for some strange reason. (The default is /etc/modprobe.d/sound, but alsaconf doesn't write to that one either).
Quote:
# modprobe snd_sb ??

I have tried modprobe snd-sb16 after boot, but still the sound doesn't work. When I look at the output of 'lsmod' it differs slightly from when I do alsaconf first.
lsmod after 'alsaconf'(only the sound part):
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_sb16               12392  0
snd_opl3_lib           10496  1 snd_sb16
snd_sb16_dsp           11136  1 snd_sb16
snd_pcm                79364  1 snd_sb16_dsp
snd_timer              22532  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          9348  1 snd_pcm
snd_sb16_csp           19840  1 snd_sb16
snd_sb_common          14976  3 snd_sb16,snd_sb16_dsp,snd_sb16_csp
snd_hwdep               9248  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_sb16_csp
snd_mpu401_uart         7936  1 snd_sb16
snd_rawmidi            21536  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          8716  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    47460  11 snd_sb16,snd_opl3_lib,snd_sb16_dsp,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_sb16_cs
p,snd_sb_common,snd_hwdep,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               9312  1 snd


lsmod after 'modprobe snd-sb16':
Code:
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_pcm_oss            48032  0
snd_mixer_oss          18048  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_sb16               12392  0
snd_opl3_lib           10496  1 snd_sb16
snd_sb16_dsp           11136  1 snd_sb16
snd_pcm                79364  2 snd_pcm_oss,snd_sb16_dsp
snd_timer              22532  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_pcm
snd_page_alloc          9348  1 snd_pcm
snd_sb16_csp           19840  1 snd_sb16
snd_sb_common          14976  3 snd_sb16,snd_sb16_dsp,snd_sb16_csp
snd_hwdep               9248  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_sb16_csp
snd_mpu401_uart         7936  1 snd_sb16
snd_rawmidi            21536  1 snd_mpu401_uart
snd_seq_device          8716  2 snd_opl3_lib,snd_rawmidi
snd                    47460  13 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_sb16,snd_opl3_lib,snd_sb16_dsp,snd
_pcm,snd_timer,snd_sb16_csp,snd_sb_common,snd_hwdep,snd_mpu401_uart,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_device
soundcore               9312  1 snd


Quote:
then, after a reboot and the sound works ?
Iadd a line to your /etc/init.d/bootmish.sh to have the system do that for you on boot up. also as root;
# echo "modprobe snd_sb ?? " >> /etc/init.d/bootmish.sh
will do that step.

Aha, thank you. Now I know where to put it, when I find the right command to enable my soundcard.

Quote:
Old stuff is a great way to learn, just have patience :)


I agree. Thanks for your time and help. :)

_________________
Torfinn


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:06 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
Hi,

You may need to run alsamixer to unmute and set levels, I think it saves properly if run as root.

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 5:50 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:54 pm
Posts: 5
This topic is nearly a year old, but I had to do the same thing for a new Sound Blaster Live! Value card. The "Value" part is apparently a Dell-specific chipset that doesn't actually work with SB drivers (for Linux). There is much written on this elsewhere.

FYI, out of the box, KnoppMyth had no sound with this card. I ran alsaconf, which turned on the sound, but lost the sound after reboot. Adding "modprobe snd-emu10k1x" to the end of /etc/init.d/bootmish.sh still does the trick.

Is this still the appropriate fix?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 7:01 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 7:05 pm
Posts: 5088
Location: Fontana, Ca
I think this is the known issue this Dell Soundblaster. If the fix works, it works!

_________________
cesman

When the source is open, the possibilities are endless!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:04 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 10:55 pm
Posts: 3161
Location: Warwick, RI
HI Nyhm,

Curious, what flavor of Dell? I have mostly had issues with the
OptiPlexGX1 needing a modprobe snd-cs4236
The GX260-270s I think required modprobe snd-intel8x0 but that was for ~A16?
older Compaq Desktop Pro neads modprobe snd_es1688 for A26

Mike

after thought, some topics never die :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:54 pm
Posts: 5
Mike,

I have a Dell Dimension 4600. It has an Intel motherboard sound chipset, but I went for the Sound Blaster Live! upgrade. Then I found that I couldn't use this "special" SB in Linux (Debian), which was a big disappointment (with Dell and Sound Blaster, not Linux).

With blind hope, I put the card into the KnoppMyth R5C7. It didn't work until I found this post about manually doing a modprobe.

Apparently, snd-emu10k1x handles these "special" SB Live! cards.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu