View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Can't Install Knoppmyth
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 5
sorry guys i had no idea what to call this topic, but anyway i have a P3 1.7ghz, 256mb of ram and a 2gb hdd (its small, yeah i know).keep in mind im a total noob at this, i couldnt find the minimum requirements for knoppmyth but i assumed my comp will be able to run it. i downloaded the latest build and burned the iso but when i tried to install it it would halt before i can even get to the option menu (the one where you choose frontend etc). i get this error saying i should use the 8139c+ drivers or something. ive tried googling this problem and searching this in the forums but i cant seem to find anyone with this same problem. if anyone can help it would be much appreciated.

thanks,
lesterr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:03 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
...How the hell do you have a 2 gig HD in this day and age?

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:29 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 5
ahahhahaha i know, but im only 16. and i dont have a part time job, believe me if i did i'd get a decent htpc. but for the time being i just wanna mess around with myth tv until i can afford a bigger hard drive and a tv tuner.if i can get my parents to use myth tv i might have a change of getting them to chip in wheni wanna buy a hard drive or something else btw how much space does knoppmyth take up? could this be the problem? cause i tried popped the cd in my gaming rig and it loaded the option menu.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 8:31 pm
Posts: 1996
Location: /dev/null
I can't help you w/ your problem, but 2 gigs ain't gonna cut it... I'll also point you to the knoppmyth wiki.

Quote:
o Partition one will be used for /. Make this no less than a 2 gig partition: this will leave plenty of room for growth. Make this bootable.

o Partition two for swap. No more than 256 megs is needed. Set the type to swap(82).

o Partition three for cache. 5 gigs should be plenty. If you have a PVR-250 or 350, you may want to make this bigger.

o Partition four for myth. Make this the rest of the drive.

_________________
Retired KM user (R4 - R6.04); friend to LH users.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 5
thanks, thats a huuugeee help, now i just need a hard drive >.<


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 2:31 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 5
hey guys, i got a 120gb hdd today and hooked it up to my computer but when i tried to install knoppmyth i got the same error that i did when i was using a 2gb hdd. the following line appears immidietly after the knoppmyth splash screen dissapears. "pci dev 0000:00:0h.0 (id 10ec:8139 rev 10) is not 8139c+ compatible chip"

after this error is displayed knoppmyth continues to do its loading thing, but after that another error appears "hdc.command error : status= 0x51(drive ready seek complete error)".

this error is followed by dozens more until the screen goes black and does not do anything. now im thinking that i could be a problem with some other component on my computer.

thanks
lesterr,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 9:20 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 852
Location: London, UK
Have you verified your copy of R5D1 with the CHECKSUM (probably done before you burn the .iso image) or the when you boot of the CD you've burnt? Using the boot testcd command when you first install (if I remember the right command!)

_________________
Version:R8
Intel C2D 7400, Nvidia 5600 via HDMI to Samsung B37B650TW (PAL), Asus P5QL-E mobo, 4Gb PC6400 DDR2 ram, Samsung Spinpoint 500 Gb & 1Tb drive, Nova-HD-S2 (x2)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 11:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 2:26 am
Posts: 5
thanks for the help but i fixed the problem. i swapped my cd drive for a cd-rw/dvd drive, that fixed the "hdc.command error : status= 0x51(drive ready seek complete error)" problem and allowed me to install knoppyth and after i removed my network card the "pci dev 0000:00:0h.0 (id 10ec:8139 rev 10) is not 8139c+ compatible chip" issue was fixed,

i still dont know why this error came up but i hope it helps anyone else who has the same problem,

thanks guys


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu