View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 1:41 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon May 10, 2004 8:08 pm
Posts: 1891
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Wikipedia wrote:
Dynamic DNS is a system which allows the domain name data held in a name server to be updated in real time. The most common use for this is in allowing an Internet domain name to be assigned to a computer with a varying (dynamic) IP address.
I use a free dynamic dns service to connect to my box's mythweb from remote locations. I suspect others do too.

My question is: Is there a preferred free dynamic dns service? What is everyone else using? If there is a preferred service, we could include the dynamic dns client software in knoppmyth so that it did not need to be re-installed after every upgrade.

The service I use is http://www.no-ip.com/ but I'd be happy to change if there was a different preferred service.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 2:34 am 
Offline
Site Admin
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:40 pm
Posts: 357
Location: Irvine, Ca
There is also https://www.dyndns.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:53 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 1637
Location: Virginia, USA
I use DynDNS too, although I've never figured out the best client to run on my KM box to update my IP number.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2006 11:34 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Hi,

I have been using no-ip for static and dynamic hosting, as well as mail port redirection for about 5 years, and they have been great.

Why fix something that ain't broke.

Victor

_________________
Backend: Core 2-Quad CPU, 4GB RAM, 3TB
2 PVR-500, 1 HDHomerun
FE1: Zotac IONITX-B-E, w/2GB HD
FE2: Zotac MAG


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 10:33 am 
Offline
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 5:47 pm
Posts: 65
I've been using dyndns.com for a couple of years. The client I used is the perl based ddclient:

https://sourceforge.net/project/memberl ... _id=116817

I using R5F27. Based on my installation notes, this is what you have to do to get it installed and running...

First install ddclient using apt-get.

Code:
apt-get install ddclient


Follow prompts to install ddclient. The debian configurator will update the client based on the local address. My local address is behind NAT firewall so I need to edit the configuration based on the global address the router sees.

As a habit, I overwrite the ddclient.conf with the last backuped verion. Here is my working ddclient.conf (with all my specific user information omitted). Edit to match your configuration.


Code:
# Basic HTTPS configuration file for ddclient
#
# /etc/ddclient.conf

daemon=3600
pid=/var/run/ddclient.pid
ssl=yes
use=web, web=checkip.dyndns.com/, web-skip='IP Address'
login=<mylogin>
password=<mypassword>
protocol=dyndns2
server=members.dyndns.org
wildcard=YES
<my dynamic dns name e.g. me.homeip.net>


Next I restart the ddclient.

Code:
  /etc/init.d/ddclient restart


This has been working reliability for me for some time. Hope this helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:34 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:19 pm
Posts: 70
mark60050 wrote:
I've been using dyndns.com for a couple of
years. The client I used is the perl based ddclient:

https://sourceforge.net/project/memberl ... _id=116817

That's the combination I've been using for several years at a
couple different sites (though ddclient isn't running on a KM
box). I tried to get the dyndns support working in opnewrt,
but never had any luck with that approach.

_________________
Grant


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 11:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Thu May 11, 2006 7:42 pm
Posts: 34
I use dyndns as well, but my router (a Linksys WRT54G, with factory firmware) has built-in support to update my IP.. No clients necessary :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 7:38 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 2:54 pm
Posts: 392
Location: Beaumont, CA
I use dyndns also. I was using ddclient for years, but my dlink router has it built in, so now I use that. I've never had a problem with ddclient nor my router updating my ip.

_________________
ASUS A7N266 Micro-ATX Motherboard
Athlon 2200 processor
512K Kingston PC2100 Memory
MicroAtx Case
2 PVR250's w/remote
eVGA e-GeForce mx4000 (64 Ram with Tv/Out (Svideo))
Lite-on DVD cd-rw combo
120 GB Western Digital


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I use Dyndns.org
PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 7:31 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 11:28 am
Posts: 82
Location: Beverly Hills, Michigan
Hi There,

I also use DynDns.org (I have always used it thru a router, Netgear, Liksys, and others). Never had a problem.

_________________
Backend/Frontend
ASUS M4A78-EM w/8400GS 4G RAM pcHDTV 3000 + PVR500 (1045), 1TB, 250 & 320. Iguana IR USB (running R6)
Frontend_1
Asus M2NPV-VM - 1GB RAM - 40 GB Hard Disk - StreamZap
Frontend_2
Dragon 1.0 w/ 2G RAM - 40 GB Hard Disk StreamZap


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:07 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:18 pm
Posts: 1393
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
I more vote for dyndns.org. I have used both the hardware and software clients and have always been very happy.

_________________
Girkers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2008 12:55 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2004 7:06 pm
Posts: 309
Location: Toronto
I use no-ip.com and their linux client to update the IP.

_________________
KnoppMyth Folding@home
How to setup F@H
F@H Stats Page


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 4:02 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:54 am
Posts: 88
vabiro wrote:
Hi,

I have been using no-ip for static and dynamic hosting, as well as mail port redirection for about 5 years, and they have been great.

Why fix something that ain't broke.

Victor


I have been using no-ip the same way for about 3 years. I had to switch because my work's network did not allow DNS resolution from DynDns.org name servers.

I really like no-ip's service and have never had any problems with them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 11:40 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2005 6:32 pm
Posts: 6
Personally, I use DynDNS, configured in my DD-WRT-enabled router.

Handles everything automatically for me. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:38 pm
Posts: 239
Location: Sweden
I'm using a router solution as well on my PowerBit SafeGate (also known as SurfinBird something). This works fine with my SIP telephony and MythWeb. The latter is set up to use https using this guide: http://mysettopbox.tv/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=15796&highlight=

Cheers,
/Chris

_________________
LinHES R8.2
BE: AMD64X4, 4GB, Hauppauge usb tuners
FE1: Gigabyte F2A85X-UP4, nVidia GT640
FE2: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, AthlonX2 4850E 2.5 GHz, 1GB, ASUS GEFORCE 7200GS 256MB
FE3: Asus Chromebox CN60


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 5:16 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 8:47 pm
Posts: 367
Location: Minnesota- Brrrrr!
I use ZoneEdit.com because it allows free DDNS with the URL of my choice. It does not constrain the choice of URL, so I can use ILikeGovernmentCheese.com if it has not already been registered.

This is done through a DD-WRT flashed router and seems to work nicely.

_________________
R7.3: 0.22.20091023-1, Hauppauge PVR-500 (Philips FQ1236A MK4), Gigabyte Gigabyte EG45M-UD2H, E5200 2.4Ghz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GEFORCE 256MB


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu