View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: [SOLVED] R6 and initrd
PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:59 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Santa Ana, CA
I have a SCSI RAID controller (LSI MegaRaid) and had that working fine with R5.5.
But with R.6, after installing, it doesn't boot, presumably because the megaraid modules are not loaded.
How can I get these modules loaded early on? I used to do that in /boot/initrd in 5.5. Can somebody tell me where the equivalent functionality is in R6?


Last edited by JoeF on Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 5:23 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2006 6:13 pm
Posts: 480
Location: IN
I believe you need to look at /etc/rc.conf

_________________
ABIT NF-M2 nView | Athlon 64 X2 3800+ | 2GB DDR2 800 | HDHomerun | GeForce 6150 (onboard) | WD 640 GB SATA HD | DVD-RW (sata) | StreamZap IR receiver with Logitech Harmony remote

Vizio 37" LCD HDTV (1080p)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Answering myself, I have found this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Off ... ure_System

Looks like I need to edit /etc/mkinitcpio.conf to add the modules and create a new initial ramdisk image with mkinitcpio.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: R6 uses runit
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 1:00 pm 
Offline
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 1:20 pm
Posts: 98
Location: Krakow, Poland, EU
Hi Joe,
JoeF wrote:
Answering myself, I have found this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Off ... ure_System

I don't want to misguide you, but I am not sure that actually initrd is the way to go. I read once from Cecil Watson that "R6 uses runit" instead. Please refer to this thread : LinHES-system 1.0-74. Should I be right, the Official_LinHES_Install_Guide would differ from the Official_Arch_Linux_Install_Guide on that point and others likely too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: R6 uses runit
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:30 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Golffies wrote:
Hi Joe,
JoeF wrote:
Answering myself, I have found this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Off ... ure_System

I don't want to misguide you, but I am not sure that actually initrd is the way to go. I read once from Cecil Watson that "R6 uses runit" instead. Please refer to this thread : LinHES-system 1.0-74. Should I be right, the Official_LinHES_Install_Guide would differ from the Official_Arch_Linux_Install_Guide on that point and others likely too.

Well, from a qucik look, it seems runit is a replacement for the init process. But that comes after the stuff I try to do.
in R5.5, initrd is self-contained, and loads some modules. It then uses pivot to replace itself with the real init.
I use initrd in R5.5 to load the modules for my SCSI Raid, which then allows init to read from the disk.
The mkinitcpio in Arch/R6 seems to work the same way: it creates a self-contained image in memory that is then used to start all the rest, like init or runit or what-have-you.
There is a LinHES-specific file in the config directory for mkinitcpio, so I think this will work for LinHES.

The trick is that this image has to be loaded by the boot loader without any knowledge/access to the root filesystem, since that is not accessible until the modules for the raid system are loaded.
That's the second issue I may run into: R5.5 uses lilo, which I know very well. R6 uses grub, which I am not all that firm with...
Anyway, this has to wait for a few weeks, due to other commitments.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:32 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 1:01 pm
Posts: 21
Location: Santa Ana, CA
JoeF wrote:
Answering myself, I have found this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Off ... ure_System

Looks like I need to edit /etc/mkinitcpio.conf to add the modules and create a new initial ramdisk image with mkinitcpio.

I am happy to report that this is indeed the correct way to load modules into the initial ramdisk so that the system can boot from my SCSI hardware RAID.
I added the two megaraid modules in the MODULES array, recreated a new initrd image with mkinitcpio -g /boot/kernel26.img, and it booted up fine.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu