View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Linhes Pacman packages
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:51 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 368
Location: South New Jersey, USA
I understand that the goal of Linhes is to allow for all options to be setup in the service menu but I think we are a ways away from that. In reading through the forums there are many how-tos that include command line "pacman"s to get get different features and options setup (Hulu desktop, flash, firefox, torrents, etc).

Other then looking through the repository directorys and trying to interpret what is what, is there a list of stable packages available for Linhes?

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 9:58 pm 
Offline
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 11:00 am
Posts: 9551
Location: Arlington, MA
The pacman tool itself can tell you. To list the installed packages:
Code:
pacman -Q

To see what the repositories contain:
Code:
pacman -Sl


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:28 pm 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 368
Location: South New Jersey, USA
Thanks tjc. I guess I should be careful what I ask for. Those commands give a lot of packages, most of which are basic infrastructure of LINHES.

I was thinking of a more laymen type of list that would only list packages that add features or plugins that are not included by default in LINHES. A lot of this info is in the forum but if you dont know its there, you dont know to look for it.

If nothing exists perhaps we could setup a page in the LINHES wiki

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 12:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Orlando FL
Another related suggestion might be to expand on the "software" section of the LinHES settings menu. Right now it has maybe a dozen items and not many with descriptions. If maybe there was a way to dynamically add things to that menu like maybe an RSS feed or something. I worthless at coding, so I have no idea how to make it work.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 7:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 368
Location: South New Jersey, USA
I agree that the LINHES setting menu is the ultimate spot to have all these thing listed as well as optioned on or off and I think that the LINHES powers that be are working towards that. In looking through the repos and the forum there are a great many extras that can be installed with a simple pacman command. I will admit that some packages require a bit more tweaking to get them to work right but in any case it all starts by knowing that a package exists.
For example, someone who downloads LINHES this week for the first time has no way of knowing about the huludesktop.

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 5:42 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1293
Location: Orlando FL
and to your point I have had Hulu Desktop for over a year and still can't get it to see my streamzap remote. Easy plus tweaking.

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:59 am 
Offline
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 10:20 am
Posts: 368
Location: South New Jersey, USA
True. I dont want to suggest that all the pacman packages are currently possible without some work (although some are). I ams thinking that a new page in the LINHES WIKI with a table listing

Package name
Function (what is does for the user)
Pacman command line
Links to forum for install/troubleshooting
Status in Linhes (included/not included in version X.XX)
Last Updated date ( a big pet peeve of mine in wikis)

Any comments?
I can try and put something togeather over the long weekend.

_________________
LINHES 8.3 BE/FE - MSI K9N6SGM-V with AMD A64 X2 4600+, 1GB Ram. 1.5TB WD. HDHR Prime & PVR150. Nvidia GT210. Silver remote.
FrontEnd - Dell Vostro 400 3.0GHz Core2Duo NVidia GeForce210. MCE Remote


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu