View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next

Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
 Post subject: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 6:28 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
G'day all,

I am trying to update from 8.0 and I get:

Code:
[root@mythtv etc]# pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: Replace dbus-core with core/dbus? [Y/n] n
:: Replace grub-bios with core/grub? [Y/n] n
:: Replace grub-common with core/grub? [Y/n] n
:: Replace libltdl with core/libtool? [Y/n] n
:: Replace libsoup-gnome with extra/libsoup? [Y/n] n
:: Replace libusbx with core/libusb? [Y/n] n
:: Replace libwebkit with extra/webkitgtk2? [Y/n] n
:: Replace lirc-utils with core/lirc? [Y/n] n
:: Replace nss-myhostname with core/systemd? [Y/n] n
:: Replace pyopenssl with core/python2-pyopenssl? [Y/n] n
:: Replace python-pexpect with core/python2-pexpect? [Y/n] ^C



I don't really know arch pacman update stuff so unsure if I should answer yes or no.

Suggestions?

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:52 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: SC
Because of the changes in R8.2 (http://linhes.org/versions/show/27) you can't just do a pacman -Syu. To go from R8.0 to current (R8.5.1 right now) the best bet is to backup and do an ISO upgrade. See http://linhes.org/versions/show/30


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:57 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
ah!, sort remember that from some where.

Ok thanks! I may go through 8.1 etc.

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 11:46 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: SC
stinga wrote:
I may go through 8.1 etc.
You would have to do the ISO method for that too as the R8.1 repos are not available anymore.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2018 7:07 pm 
Offline
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:14 am
Posts: 1241
Location: Orlando FL
You may want to consider a partial restore or upgrading through a virtual machine.
Both are documented here viewtopic.php?f=24&t=23938&p=138291
good luck

_________________
My System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2018 2:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
Thanks, I have just had to do a partial restore from a broken root HD when I upgraded to 8.

My whole mythtv experience is bad right now and I am not sure what is wrong, keeps crashing locking up etc, this was before 8.
It might be MB is going bad, but upgrading that means buying new tuners as I only have 4 pci cards and pci slots are getting hard to find.

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 9:54 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
Did not go well....

I now have
Unable to start child: /etc/runit/1 file does not exist

or 2 or 3 :-(

Have to do a bit of digging. Seems to be the correct partition. Just off to boot with a live CD.

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:33 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
I tried again and it did the same thing, there is no 1, 2 or 3 in /etc/runit.

I will try 8.2

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 8:13 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
I was running 8.0

8.1 failed as above
and 8.2 fails saying the disk is pre 8.0

so that sucks....

Does anybody know how the install works or where I can start unpicking the scripts?

It also takes ages to upgrade when doing 8.1, like 40 minutes.

I can;t find any logging, all in all... very unsatisfactory... :-(

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:22 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: SC
Both issues make me think that your /etc directory got corrupted. You can see if there is an etc.old dir and restore. Your quickest option might be doing a clean install and restoring the backup.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:48 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
How would I do clean install and restore, is that same as when I went from 7 to 8, using the web page and doing partial (was mentioned above)

I do have a etc.old and I do have an LH backup, as well as a copy of / (excluding media files) from before the upgrade

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:56 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
The message I get now is...

The selected disk cannot be upgraded because it is older than LinHES R8.0

When I look at sda1 I can see /etc/LinHES-release is R8.2

I also have /etc/runit/1 and friends, which I did not have before...

So I rebooted and now I get

error: file '/boot/grub/i386-pc/normal.mod' not found
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue>

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 10:08 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
Using the ISO, I have mounted /dev/sda1 and whilst things look good, my /etc/fstab is empty :-( so that sucks...

and I don't have an etc.old, I did at one point but not now.

and /boot on sda1 seems devoid of useful things like vmlinuz

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgrade linhes 8.0
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 11:01 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1065
Location: SC
Do an install and select the drive and it will erase the whole drive. So make sure any media at sdX7 is saved and the backups are not on that drive.

Since you have to do a clean install I would recommend going to the latest available, R8.5.1.

A partial restore shouldn't be needed since you were on R8 already but it wouldn't hurt.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 2:37 am 
Offline
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:37 am
Posts: 191
Location: Cornwall - uk
Since I had a copy of sda1 on another server (I always rsync it off) I rsync'd it over the top and then upgraded to 8.2
That seemed to work, I need to test fully, but I think I am running 8.2 successfully.
I can watch stuff, no audio at the moment though.

There are few error messages thrown out, 1 at grub that is too quick to catch will try to record it and see what it says.

So I can play back fine, but the timezone is incorrect to recordings are all out, why did it not keep that?

[I removed the part about mythtv-setup, I was connecting to the wrong backend]

_________________
--
stinga

as of 17-May-2018
R8.2 - sort of working.
MB: gigabyte GA-P43-ES3G | RAM: 2GB
VGA: PNY Nvidia GT240 1GB
4 x Technisat skystar 2 dvb | 1 x TBS6981 dvb-s2
pata: 1x300Gb | sata: 2x1Tb 2x2Tb
Problems:
TBS6981 Does not work.


Last edited by stinga on Fri May 18, 2018 3:28 am, edited 1 time in total.


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Go to page 1, 2  Next



All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu