View unanswered posts    View active topics

All times are UTC - 6 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Print view Previous topic   Next topic  
Author Message
Search for:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 3:16 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Australia
Hi,

Thought I would try out new install on another computer a Dell 9020 SFF. I'm installing from a DVD ROM, it gets up to "Starting linhes-install" and stops. (see pic)
Never had an issue like this before. I typed in journalctl -xe and it did come up with "failed to start linhes installer at display"
I have also tried force VESA install and R8.5.1 and it does the same.
Thanks for any help.


Attachments
LinHESinstallfail2.jpg
LinHESinstallfail2.jpg [ 234.99 KiB | Viewed 335 times ]
LinHESinstallfail1.jpg
LinHESinstallfail1.jpg [ 213.13 KiB | Viewed 337 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 7:10 am 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: SC
X isn't starting. Can you see anything of interest in /var/log/Xorg.log?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 2:50 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Australia
Looks like it does not load drivers for the video card. AMD Radeon HD 8490.
I could not work out how to copy the file to a USB drive,I tried many command lines, so there are photos here:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/ybynl6501q42 ... 090Ua?dl=0

Maybe I should try another video card or can the drivers be loaded?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:23 pm 
Offline
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:12 pm
Posts: 1171
Location: SC
It is failing even with vesa which is really surprising. The concerning part is the PCI ROM data error but things look to load after that so maybe it isn't an issue. Without forcing vesa do you get similar output?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 30, 2019 2:30 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Australia
For the log photos that was with a default install selected in the first menu.
I have managed find in my collection of bits a low profile Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS.
I have just run a default install and it has made it to the welcome screen. I will continue and let you know
how it goes. Not sure why it did not like the AMD card.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 5:12 am 
Offline
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:23 am
Posts: 47
Location: Australia
The install has gone fine with the other video card, I have the system up and running as a backend and is working great so far.
Thanks for the help,


Top
 Profile  
 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


All times are UTC - 6 hours




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Theme Created By ceyhansuyu